Thoughts from Canaan…

"The whole land of Canaan, where you now reside as a foreigner, I will give as an everlasting possession to you and your descendants after you; and I will be their God." – Genesis 17:8

Sanctifying Halloween

I’ve had several people ask what I think about ‘Halloween.’ I wrote this last year and still believe every word. Let’s use this season, along with every other one, to glorify God and point people to Jesus.

Thoughts from Canaan...

2002-pumpkin-jesus-defeats-death-small

‘Halloween.’  The very word conjures up images of witches, mummies, ghosts, and goblins.  It’s the season of haunted houses, horror movies, and carved pumpkins.  October 31st is a day that divides Christians.  On one side of the spectrum, you have believers who see it as harmless fun.  “They’re just kids enjoying themselves,” these folks might say.  On the other hand, you have people who hold strong convictions that the very day is pure evil and the best thing a Christian can do is turn off the lights, lock the door, and wait until November 1st.  I’ve known and had friends who fall on both sides and everywhere in between.  Not only that, but I’ve fallen on either side at one time or another.  Today, I find myself somewhere in the middle.  There’s no doubt in my mind that much concerning the holiday glorifies death and the macabre.  On the other…

View original post 1,492 more words

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on October 25, 2014 by in Commentary.

Navigation

