Thoughts from Canaan…

"The whole land of Canaan, where you now reside as a foreigner, I will give as an everlasting possession to you and your descendants after you; and I will be their God." – Genesis 17:8

I am a Failure

Hello. My name is Casey and I’m a failure.

Failed

There.  I said it.  I started this month off with a drive to finish the novel I’ve been working on and now it’s December.  I wrote approximately 0 words.  Now, that’s not to say that I’ve been unproductive this month – just not productive in the way I was hoping to be.

So, what did I get done instead?

1. I wrote a Christmas drama that our church will be putting on December 22.

Preparing a Christmas program is sort of like cooking a pizza.  Everyone has their favorite toppings and there just isn’t enough room to get them all on the same pie.  Some people like simple, traditional nativity scene with a choir quietly singing ‘Silent Night’ and ‘Angels We Have Heard on High.’  Others prefer a full-length drama with a cast of colorful characters and a plot that will simultaneously leave you chuckling and reaching for your hanky.  Walking that fine line between tradition and innovation can be a challenge but after getting a really good idea in the shower (where all good ideas are born), I sat down and started writing.  We’re preparing for it now and with every song I hear the choir practicing, I feel better and better.  It’s a fairly traditional telling of the Christmas story with just enough to mix it up and keep it interesting.  Needless to say, I’m looking forward to it.

2. I preached several services in Ohio and Louisiana

The last six messages in my notebook are as follows:
1. Wholly Holy – Exodus 3:1-5
2. Standing on His Promises – 2 Peter 1:4
3. Living as a Blessing or a Curse – Joshua 7
4. I am a Redeemed, Chosen, Blessed, Child of God – Ephesians 1:3-14
5. Unless the Lord Builds the Church – Psalm 127
6. The Definition of a Christian – James 1:27
I’ve been thinking a lot about writing my sermons out and posting them here. If I do, I’d like to start with some of the messages above so be on the lookout for that.

3. I read several good books

On the flight to Atlanta and drive to Louisiana I was able to finish three books.  Rather than write full reviews for them, I’m going to post some brief thoughts either today or tomorrow (hopefully).  I can’t tell you how much I’ve enjoyed the reading that I’ve gotten done and it has helped my preaching tremendously.  Reading good books is so healthy for the Christian life and even more so for the life of a preacher.

4. I continued the usual…

I also continued the other work I’ve been doing.  I started working on a pamphlet/booklet that describes holiness called, ‘Wholly Holy.’  I worked on some curriculum that teaches systematic Bible Study.  I prepared for Sunday School every week.  I helped my wife with the preschool.  I brought my daughter out to play in the snow for the first time.  Et cetera, et cetera.  I seemed to do everything except the one thing that I really wanted to do: finish my book.

Oh well, there’s always next November.

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on December 2, 2013 by in Random and tagged , , , .
